No Hate Here

pexels-photo

I struggled with whether or not to write anything. I often feel that my words would do no good because somehow I would jumble my thoughts and would not be able to produce a coherent statement. I have since moved past that and have learned that silence speaks. I would rather speak and have a few misplaced words than to not speak at all and appear to be supportive of a movement. What happened yesterday in Charlottesville has no place in the Kingdom of God. Hate has no place in the Kingdom of God.

I am vehemently against any person perverting Scripture to justify their hate-filled actions. This is not what the Gospel is. In fact, if anything, a movement that seeks to produce harm and tries to justify it on Scripture is a form of an Antichrist. There cannot be any mistaking it. The spirit behind the movement is evil, regardless of what the supporters may tell you.

Thankfully, Scripture is not silent when it comes to living with our neighbors. The Apostle John wrote a portion of the New Testament and was not silent on this topic. The fourth chapter of 1st John speaks to love quite extensively. While this is a short read and one I encourage you to pursue on your own time, I want to focus specifically on verse twenty of this chapter. John tells us that if someone claims to love God, but hates their brother, they are a liar.

Love is the only option for a Christian. It does not mean that I have to endorse the sin in their life, but I am called to love them. The way we treat those that we can see standing right in front of us is an example of how deep our love of God is. If you want to love God more, start by loving your brother more.

You can try and justify your actions and personally, I do not care. I am choosing love. I would rather love and be wrong.

Let Me Know What You Think

