Book Review: Nothing To Prove

Jennie Allen’s book Anything wrecked me. I hate using that terminology, but that is the best way I know to describe it. It caused me to face a lot of my own notions of what I had surrendered to God. Since that point, I try to read everything she releases. Her new book Nothing To Prove was splendid.

nothing_to_prove

Through this book we learn to prove that ultimately if we have God’s approval, we have nothing to prove. We live for his approval and not the approval of our friends, family, and people around us. Despite what others may tell us and how we may feel, that is what God offers us.

I like how Jennie forms each chapter out of a miracle of Jesus recorded in the Gospel of John. While I believe in good thoughts outside of Scripture, it is always nice when an author seeks to keep their book rooted in it. Through the miracles and her own experiences, Jennie brings a fresh approach to the truth of the Bible.

I underlined plenty of lines and it took me a while to finish the book. It was not due to the book being extremely wordy or complicated to read, but rather because it needs digesting. There are some books that need time to marinade in  your brain. This is one that I constantly found myself thinking about as the day went on and when I needed to pick it up to read some more, I wanted to go back and skim over the part I had already finished.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review. The words written here are my own and have not been influenced in any manner by the author or publisher.

Let Me Know What You Think

