Book Review: Finding God In The Waves

Mike McHargue is known on the internet as Science Mike. Rarely would anyone know his actual name. This may lead to fewer people reading his new memoir Finding God In The Waves, but it doesn’t mean that it is a good thing. First, I should start off by saying that I hold different views than Mike on various issues. I do not want to list all of them mainly due to the fact that this is not the place for it. I would find myself closer to the fundamentalist camp that McHargue often cites, but I am not a fundamentalist. Regardless of his beliefs, I believe that this is a book anyone interested in science and Christianity should read.

fgitw

Throughout this work Mike tells of how he fell away from his faith and became an atheist and then subsequently found his faith again through science. It is a fascinating journey through many scientific discoveries and how they are not opposing to the Christian faith, regardless of what some would want to believe. Instead, Mike argues that science can actually help to prove the existence of God and can even explain why people of faith often experience better lives.

What is better is important to note is that Mike has the ability to dive deeper into the science and speak in words that the majority of his readers will not understand, he takes the time to spell things out in an easy to read manner. You do not have to have a science background to understand what he is conveying in his words. For that, I am thankful. I know enough scientific thought to be dangerous, but not enough to be a professional.

Towards the end of the book Mike dives into his personal beliefs a little more than I would have thought. He even admits that most of what he believes would not qualify him as a Christian by many people. I am not one to judge someone’s salvation, but I can say that his beliefs would ostracize McHargue from many Christian communities.

If you are interested in science and Christianity and personal journeys of faith, I would recommend you find and read this book. I am not going to claim to agree with everything that Mike writes in regards to theology and Christian beliefs, but I can recommend this book. If you take the time to slow down and read the words you will find a man truly burdened by his “falling away” and his desire to move back towards God.

I received this book for free in exchange for from the publisher for an unbiased review. These words are my own and have not been influenced in any way by the publisher or author.

Let Me Know What You Think

