Book Review: A Mile Wide

I admit, I was hesitant to review this book. I started reading it before all of the hoopla about the author and his wife started. I had finished over half when the news broke and much of the Christian market cried foul. Honestly, I cannot blame the Christian media for being concerned, but it does not mean that I have to agree with how they handled it. However, I digress and that is not what this post is about. This post is to review Brandon Hatmaker’s new book A Mile Wide.

a_mile_wide

This is the first book I have read from Hatmaker. I greatly enjoy his writing style. He makes the pages fly by and there is no dictionary required to get through his words. The content of this book is also nothing new. His main idea is that we need to stop trying to simply gather more and more information about God and instead seek to serve Him with those around us.

I get what Brandon is trying to convey and even agree with most of it. I have seen a lot of seats in a church occupied by someone who has a wealth of information about God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit but will not go out of their way to feed their neighbor when they’re hungry. That is a shame and must change. If we were to simply stop the book there, it may have gained a higher mark, but the final chapter left cause for concern.

The last chapter is definitely where I can see the Hatmaker’s turn in their thinking towards various social issues. While he says that he believes in tradition, you can tell that the family is wrestling with some of the biblical teachings that they have held to their entire life. He admits that we should listen to what our churches have held to, but we should not be afraid to push back against these beliefs. While I am for searching out your own faith, I can see where he was headed and it is not one that I would want to see anyone slide towards.

In all honesty, this book is alright. I like the writing style and for the most part, I like the content. I simply cannot agree to where I know Hatmaker is going at the end and for that reason I would only recommend it for someone who knows his bias. I would not give this to a new believer due to the predicament they may find themselves in after reading the entire book.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review. The words are my own and have not been influenced in any way by the publisher or author.

Let Me Know What You Think

