Book Review: Simple Pursuit

I try to get my hands on every item I can that comes out of Passion City Church and the Passion Conferences. I am not a stranger to Louie Giglio’s life and the life he and Shelly are leaving. When the mention of a devotional from them was discovered, I knew I would have to acquire it. At first I was a little sad because I thought I had been lied because it turns out this is not a devotional from the folks in charge of Passion.

Simple Pursuit.jpg Instead of letting the leaders write all the words, Giglio and his crew have decided to let the attendees write their words. Rather than basking in the spotlight that is naturally pointed to them, Passion decided to turn the spotlight on the ones attending the conference. It is a rare thing for someone to be so quick to share the spotlight. Instead, we like to stand in it as long as possible, but I am thankful that this is not a situation like that. This is one where all are celebrated and all are encouraged to have a part.

I am not entirely sure the methodology that was used to select the daily devotions or the writers, but that is not the point. The point is this is a quality daily devotional that is allowing the future generation an opportunity to put their ink on paper and craft their words to the masses. This is a quality devotional product and could be used by anyone. One thing I like is that it is not divided by calendar date. Instead, it simply says day twenty-five or day 234. This to me works better because a person can pick it up at any point in the year and feel like they are right on time. It may make it a little difficult to follow along if you start in the middle of August, but that is where the nifty ribbon page marker comes in handy.

Overall, if you are looking for a fresh devotional and like the work coming out of the Passion conferences and such, this is a devotional for you. If not, you probably know someone that will enjoy it.

I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review. These words are my own and have not been influenced in any manner by the author or publisher.

Let Me Know What You Think

