An Unlikely Champion

It is hard to believe that I will be thirty years old next month. A new decade approaches and I am not sure what it will bring. What I do know it will bring is a chance for people overcome their situations and become an unlikely champion. I have seen it happen in a few lives. I live in a fairly rural area where there are many people living in poverty. I know the region and its struggles and have tasted them myself.

pexels-photo-132967

Today’s post I want to talk about one individual who has become an unlikely champion. I went to high school with the individual and, at the time, he was known for his mischievous ways. He was always looking to instigate some sort of joke or spout off a comment or take some sort of action to provoke a response from those in leadership. It was not that he was a terrible guy, but rather one that liked to press the buttons.

After high school, he took a couple of years to find himself. That is the best way to put it, I suppose. He had a small run in with a police officer and had to fight a battle in the courtroom. Rather than letting this be his new normal and the way things would be for the rest of his life, he found mentors that were willing to help guide him to a better way of living. He had to overcome the obstacles of his past and his locality, but these can be see as excuses or a reason to put in the extra work required to make a better life.

He then enrolled at the college with the determination to not only survive, but thrive. Through the guidance of some inspirational figures around him, he managed to complete his degree in business and economics and was sought after as an employee when he graduated. He has since moved out of state, but now has a thriving career with nothing but potential in a field that is growing.  I fully expect him to be one of the most successful individuals to come out of our small town, but it was not without work.

I am thrilled that there are inspirational movies being pushed to the big screen. This Friday (September 30th), Disney is releasing a new film called Queen of Katawe and it is one that will inspire you. If you are like me, you may not have heard of the film before now. However, after watching the short clip below I cannot wait to see it for myself.

Who knows, maybe I will see you there!

 

Let Me Know What You Think

