Review: HCSB Illustrator’s Notetaking Bible

First off, let me say I am not an artist. I doodle and can barely create anything worth even a mention; however, I believe this Bible is for people like me. Sure, it can be used by those with more artistic skill and they would do a lovely job, but it is also simple enough for people like me to use. Why is that?

Illustrator_Bible

Well, despite being labeled as a Bible for Illustrators, there is still ample room for notes. Down one edge or the other, you will find lines that are begging to be filled with notes as you do your own study or listen to your pastor. There is enough spacing to allow writing that could easily be read later, but also enough room to get plenty of ideas down on the paper. Speaking of the paper, it does feel a little thicker than most Bibles, but it still seems like it could have been slightly thicker. It does a good job of keeping bleeding to a minimal (as that mainly depends upon your pen), but I recognize the fact that with thicker paper comes a thicker Bible.

I also like how each time you turn the page there is a new illustration on the page that is ready for you to add the color. That is a nice touch for those of us that should not be forced to rely upon our God-given abilities. I would have liked it better if the illustrations were not as gender biased. It seems as if every illustration is geared towards the female gender. It could just be my interpretation, but I still stand by it. The outer cover seems nice and should allow for a long life. And let’s not even get me started on how much I like the translation.

Overall, if you like to add color to illustrations that are already available and would prefer to have plenty of space in the margins of your Bible to take notes, this is one for you. It appears to be able to withstand years of use and allow you to capture your thoughts like never before.

I received this Bible for free from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review. The words written here are my own and have not been influenced by the publisher in any manner.

Let Me Know What You Think

