Shipwrecked

I admit, I am not a sailor. In fact, I believe I can count on my fingers the number of times I have been on a boat. I am not one that ever really wanted to get my sea legs. I suppose it was the time in a canoe (a really little boat, right?) that caused me to never connect with the waters. Of course, there are times where I want a boat and then I am promptly reminded I do not need a boat. Such is life. This post is not about boats though. It’s about what happens when the boat goes down. The boat here is a situation or circumstance in my life that I have valued. We have all been there. There has been a job, a friendship, or a inanimate object we have relied on and then found ourselves scrambling after it has let us down.

howtosurviveashipwreck

Jonathan Martin has written a new book entitled How To Survive A Shipwreck that is perfectly titled. While a rising star in his part of the church world, he saw everything come unraveled. While Martin does not dive in to a lot of depth regarding his church and marriage, we do not need to know the intimate details in order to grasp the principles he outlines.

I admire the heart wrenching and soul bearing honesty of Martin. This is a deeply personal book and one that relays just how much Martin cares for those around him. While I have never had the privilege of meeting him, while I was reading these words I felt like he was sitting in the chair next to me encouraging me to take heart and that relief will come. He conveyed his words in an almost poetic way that kept my eyes captivated.

Throughout the book Martin wants us to know that we may very well end up losing things that we think we could not live without, but ultimately God is the one responsible for our health and life. We may lose everything around us just so God is able to prove He is the only one we should rely on for our livelihood. No matter how grim the outlook and how intimidating the monsters may look, God is in control. We are not immune to the ramifications of our choices, but we know that God will be there through it all. The simple truths outlined by Martin may be the hardest to recognize while the ship is going down and we would be wise to hear them now.

This is a great book for those who are going through a struggle or a shipwreck right now. It would be a great resource to keep on hand when those times come. If you have not experienced some sort of shipwreck in your life, I guarantee you will. If you end up making it all the way to death without having your spirits crushed and it feel like life has been ripped out of you, send me an email. I would love to talk.

I received this book for free in exchange for an unbiased review. These words are my own and have not been influenced in any way by the author or publisher.

Let Me Know What You Think

