Book Review: Visual Theology

We live in a world flooded by media. We’re constantly bombarded on every side by images and graphics that are meant to captivate our attention. For that reason, I am glad to see Visual Theology by Tim Challies and Josh Byers be released. While I do not land in the reformed camp like Challies, I appreciate his work in this book and have gleaned a lot of wisdom from both himself and other reformed writers throughout my life.

visual_theology

This book is one that seeks to place the proverbial cookies of theology on a slightly lower shelf and present them in a fresh way that will allow others to savor the nuggets. I believe the authors have done just that. They have managed to design some basic pillars of theology into a piece of art. While I would have liked to have seen even more diagrams and less paragraphs, I can say that I think they hit a fairly good balance.

If you’re looking for a new way to view theology, this would be a good book for you to pick up and read. While I would not recommend it as the only source of theology because I disagree with Challies’ views on some items, it does not mean that I should not try to understand his view. I am thankful for the way it is presented and the work he is doing.

I received this book for free in exchange for an unbiased review. These words are my own and have not been influenced in any way by the publisher.

Let Me Know What You Think

