Savor by Shauna Niequist

My wife has read at least one of Shauna’s books before. She may have read two. I cannot remember right off hand. What I know is this is my first book by her. I am most familiar with her work on The Relevant Podcast. I am not sure if you could call that work, but that is not why I am writing this. Let’s just move on to the book.

While I did not take an entire year to review this, like I could have (it is a daily devotional book), I can attest to the fact that it is a good devotional. While it is not an in-depth devotional that will require you to give thirty minutes or an hour to each day, the words contained are weighty. Each day kicks off with a verse and then Shauna talks a little about an experience from her own life. She ties the two together throughout the experience and with the reflection questions at the end of each day. Overall, one could sit down and conquer this devotional in five to ten minutes every day.

I have to admit, there is one part of this work that I did not take advantage of and that is the recipes. While it may seem out of place for some people, if you know anything about Shauna, you recognize that this is in her niche. She loves to cook and has a heart to see people gather around her table to eat and share life. I have that same heart. Life is not meant to be done alone. It is much more pleasant and even necessary to have people around us. I may use one of recipes in the future, but to this day, I have not used any.

I would recommend this devotional to anyone, but I am sure that women will find more in common with it than men. It works for someone just starting on their walk with Christ as well as the seasoned veteran. I would give it four out of five stars.

As a disclaimer, I received this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review. The words are my own and have not been influenced in any way by the author or publisher.

Let Me Know What You Think

