Book Review: Life Is ____ by Judah Smith

I knew I would eventually end up reading this book. Judah’s first book Jesus Is ____ spoke to me in ways that a lot of other books have not. I even bought that book on CD so that I could listen to it while I am driving. I enjoyed this book as well, but maybe not quite as much. This is not to say that the book is not well written or as spiritual, but it still was not as good as the first in my opinion.

I still enjoyed the book, but I would not rank it quite as high. It seems to be a lot of repetitious thoughts that could have been summed up even shorter in already short chapters. Judah outlines four thoughts that every Christian ought to come to terms with in order to live a full life.

Of the four ideas, one stood out to me the most. It was the idea of being at peace with God and ourself. I was encouraged at the ease at which Judah was able to outline the difficult thought of having to walk the line between describing God’s grace and the need to not sin. As a Christian, this is always a difficult task. There are always some people who like to constantly rely on grace and do not care about trying to avoid sin. Then, there are those who are more reluctant to avoid giving grace and instead focus more on the law and the amount of sin in an individual’s life. Judah did a good job at taking a stand in both of these positions. It is important to display enough grace while also striving to live a sinless life.

Over all I would rank the book as a four out of five star read. If you have read Judah’s first book, I would encourage you to pick up his second. However, it is not necessary for you to read the first to enjoy the second.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review. I have not been paid for my words. My words are my own words.

Let Me Know What You Think

