Book Review: Jesus Swagger

I have read a lot of Jarrid’s blog posts. I have watched a few of his videos and have listened to an interview he did once. I have to admit, he does not look like me. In fact, we are not on completely different ends of the spectrum, but we are quite different people. And that is alright. It is the heart that matters the most. I believe Jarrid has a heart to reach the unchurched and dechurched and for that, I feel like we would get along just fine. When the opportunity to review his new book came to me, I knew I had to accept.

I have to admit, the title alone is enough to make you wonder. You wonder what Wilson is up to in his book. You wonder why he chose this title. Though I may be in my late twenties, I have seen too many people have a mentality that Wilson is trying to combat. Rather than being who God has designed us to be, we are often persuaded to be anything but that.

Jarrid does a splendid job of outlining some of the issues and how we must beat them in our own personal lives. The problem I have is that it seems to be a recycling of thoughts and ideas contained in other writings. It seems very surface level and, while this may be his intent, does not get too deep.

Honestly, I read the entire book, but it was difficult. I could have made it through all of his words easier if he would have laid off of the slang. I felt like I was reading the writing of a teenager. It is not a slight against Wilson because I believe he is good at what he does and ministers to a lot of people, but it just is not for me. I do not know if it is because I can only tolerate his writing in small doses or if it is simply this book. I suppose I need to go back and read his first devotional book and then I will know more of why I feel this way.

I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an unbiased review.

Let Me Know What You Think

