NIV The Journey Bible

This Bible was meant to be given as a gift. It’s meant to be read in a casual setting. It isn’t meant for deep study. It is meant for the skeptical, the unchurched, the dechurched, or the unChristian. I fit in none of those last categories, but it was still an enjoyable read. I have a hard time reviewing a Bible. You can only critique the translation so much. Ultimately it’s more about physical aspects for me as I cannot pick apart a translation I went into openly knowing things about. I am not saying that I find major fault in the translation because that would not be fair to this Bible.

I like the words and thoughts given by the editors of this Bible, I really do. To say that they are not well thought out and put together would be a lie. I want to be able to give this Bible to a skeptic that attends my church. I really do. I want to be able to give them a Bible that is fairly basic and without much information to get in their way like more studious versions. However, there are some reservations.

There are two main issues, but they are related. The first is that this is a paperback. I know that it would make it easier to throw in a bag and go, which is kind of the point. It also makes it easier to just read lounging by a pool or in a hammock by a camp fire, but it does seem like the cover could have been sturdier. I am not convinced it will stand up to a person reading the entire thing through over the course of a year. The second issue is that the pages feel very thin. I would imagine a little bit of water or condensation could make a real mess. Any sort of note taking whether by pen or highlighter could bleed through multiple pages in my opinion. If someone is truly seeking God, I would imagine that they will be marking this up and crossreferencing, though I could be completely wrong.

Overall I would give this Bible three out of five stars for those two reasons above. Yes, the thoughts contained are vital and yes I recognize that I am not the target audience for the editors, but those are major concerns. If I am going to invest the money in a Bible to give to someone, I want something that is a little more physically solid. This Bible isn’t cheap, but to me, it just doesn’t feel like it is quite worth the asking price.

I received this Bible for free through the BookLookBloggers program in exchange for an honest review. These words are my own and I have received no direction from the publisher on my review.

Let Me Know What You Think

