NIV ReadEasy Bible Review

I have to admit, it’s hard to review a Bible. I mean, outside of the translation, what merits does it have? Everyone lands in a few different camps regarding each translation of the Bible and I would not do it any justice to try to review the translation. I will say that with the NIV, you get what you get and you ought to know what you’re getting before you get it. Overall, this is a nice Bible with only a couple of minor points.

The Bible was a faux-leather material, which is not unlike my other standard Bible. In fact, I probably prefer this more than the bonded leather that had been the traditional economical version of bindings. It has a nice feel to the hand and although, it does not lie flat like the box claims from the outset, I can see that happening over time. A good Bible takes a while to work with me and not against me. I can see this one working nicely after sitting in the hot car and loosening up the stiff pages some.

The other down fall or positive note, depending upon how you look at it, is the size of the print. I prefer a small print in almost everything I do. I do not like a microscopic print, but I can handle something a little smaller than this print. That is not to say that it is too large. It is an ReadEasy Bible and you ought to expect some larger print. I could see the advantage to this if you are under bright lights on a stage and trying to read while speaking. I think it could be helpful to have a larger print.

Overall, this Bible does the job for what it is. You should not expect study notes, maps, or any cross references. It is simply a Bible for reading. If you want an actual study Bible, there are plenty out there, but this is not one. Thankfully, it does not advertise as such. The description is clear and concise about what you are getting. I give it five out of five stars. It is a Bible, and it does exactly what it describes on the box.

I received this Bible in exchange for an open and honest review from BookLookBloggers. My endorsement of the Bible is my own and has not been influenced in any way by the publisher.

Let Me Know What You Think

