Book Review: No More Dragons by Jim Burgen

The title intrigued me. There, I said it. That is the main reason I ended up with this book. I mean, who doesn’t like talking about dragons? The other reason is because of the color. If the cover is a cool color, I’m more likely to pick it up to read. I know, I’m about puddle deep in my ways of selecting books. However, in this book, I received more than I ever expected.

nomoredragons

I was surprised to find out that Jim Burgen actually had spent some time in my region. Although he did not mention the college he attended, I was able to figure it out and confirm it via the Internet. While he describes his time in the region, I can relate to the experiences he had with the people in this area. Regardless, this isn’t the only reason I liked this book.

Burgen is open with his history and his transformation. He recalls turning into a dragon over time and not knowing exactly when it happened. He was also quick to point out that it can take years for Jesus to remove the dragon scales and we have to be patient while working with Him to recover. I was encouraged by his story because I can look back through my own life and see where there were periods I was becoming more like a dragon and less like Jesus. Thankfully, I am less like a dragon today than I have ever been, but I know it is still possible and quite easy for me to transform into a dragon if I do not guard myself.

Overall I would give this book three out of five stars. I do not regret reading the book, but it isn’t one that will stick with me forever. I would rank it as average because, although I liked it, there were not many stand out quotes that connected with me. I received this book for free in exchange for an open and honest review from BookLookBloggers.

Let Me Know What You Think

