Passion: The Bright Light of Glory

I must confess, I had a hard time what to name this post. There are different titles or subtitles  and authors that could be used. Regardless of my difficulty in naming the post has nothing to do with the contents of the book. It is a pure gold mine. I highly recommend this book and would give it four out of five stars.

_240_360_Book.1131.coverI was interested in this book from the very time it was announced. I knew that Giglio and the rest would write Biblical truth with an uplifting message while keeping it easy to read and comprehend. The passages read more like articles and were everything I expected.

I know a lot of people are looking for great, theological writings, but you are not going to find it from these authors with the exception of Piper. Oh, sure, the truths they convey go deep and are based out of a deeply held theological conviction, but the writers have a way of gathering their thoughts that do not bog the reader down with religious jargon and instead make it very easy to understand.

In the first pages you get a little of the back story of the Passion movement, which was started by Louie Giglio. I always wanted to attend a gathering throughout my college years, but I was never able to make it to one. I have watched some of the events after they occurred online and even watched a few minutes of them when they broadcast them live.  To me, they are somewhat miraculous. In today’s society it is a rare thing to see college age Christians, much less those in that generation that are boldly proclaiming the name of Christ. It does my heart good to see them gathered as such and their desire to make an impact on their college campus.

Though I have not had the privilege of meeting Giglio or any of the others, I have followed their writing and speaking for some time. I have always found them a joy to listen to and hear the passion in their voice when they speak.

As I stated before, I would give this book four out of five stars only because a five-star book is hard to reach on my scale. I would recommend anyone to pick this up. It isn’t solely for the “young” crowd. Any Christian can be helped and refreshed by this book.

In full disclosure, I received this book for free for an honest and fair review from BookLookBloggers. I have received nothing in return for this glowing review.

Let Me Know What You Think

