Missing Message Monday – 02/17/2014

If you visit Church of the Crossroads, I am typically the one that is speaking on any given Sunday. Because of this I constantly have ideas, illustrations, and other things running through my mind. So much so, it is surprising that I find any time to sleep. Regardless, I typically have a lot more ideas or statements for a given sermon than what I end up using. Don’t get me wrong, I do not preach with a lot of notes, but there is usually always something that I forget to say. Because of that, I am going to try to start a new Monday post type. It’ll be called (until I get a better name) “Missing Message on Monday”. I want a clever name and that is all I can come up with right now. If you have any ideas, I would love to hear them. We will kick it off with this week’s missing message.

Grounded For Life

We are in the midst of a series called “Grounded For Life” which is a walk through of Colossians. We are not hitting every verse, but dissecting it around a common theme of being grounded and rooted in our faith. We were in the second chapter this week. I completely skipped over the point I had about verse eight in which Paul writes “Be careful that no one takes you captive through philosophy and empty deceit based on human tradition, based on the elemental forces of the world, and not based on Christ.” (HCSB)

I wanted to make the point that we have to be careful of how we are walking (see verse six). If we are not careful, we will take our eyes off of Jesus and place them on something else. Instead of walking in Christ, we will try to walk in some other strength that will ultimately leave us powerless. We have to be careful because it is easy to listen to the words of others and their philosophies and believe them.

I remember emphasizing that we have to keep our eyes on Christ, but I do not remember mentioning that Paul emphasized that we had to be careful. We have to devote ourselves to standing guard at what is taken to heart from the mouths of others. We are responsible for not only what we are putting in our ears, but also what we are letting take hold in our heart.

What are some steps we can take to be careful as Paul warns us? Is there something that has taken hold in your heart that you need to get rid of?

Let Me Know What You Think

