Book Review: Mansfield’s Book of Manly Men

I loved it. There, I had to get that off of my chest. In this book, Mansfield makes a cry for men to become men. He is forthright in letting his readers know that the book is not meant as a demeaning work against women, nor is it a book for women to read. It is for men. That was a breath of fresh air. For the rest of the scoop, read through the break.

I know you should not judge a book by its cover, but after seeing the cover of this book, I knew I would have to read it. I am completely pleased that it did not disappoint.

It is one thing for an author like Mansfield to make a cry for men to man up to their responsibilities and another to give some guidance in how to do it. Thankfully, he gives us some general ideas in how to move forward to reclaim our manliness. It caused me to think about my own life and how I have slacked in some areas while focusing on some more than others.

I also appreciate the fact that Mansfield used plenty of examples, both obscure and well-known. It helped to bring each point he was making to life.

Overall I would give it five stars. That is a high-ranking and one that I do not give lightly, but if you have a male in your life, you need to give them this book for Christmas. And then, force them to read it. It doesn’t matter if they are in high school or if they’re half a century old. Each “man” could do a better job of being a Biblical man.

To be open and comply with federal regulations, I received this book in exchange for an honest and fair review from BookSneeze. My glowing review is my own and is issued with no pressure from the publisher.

Let Me Know What You Think

