Book Review: Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl by N.D. Wilson

So, I tried to read this book. I had read that Wilson’s writing was similar to Donald Miller’s. Which, to some extent may be true. It’s very wordy and artistic and vague. However, it is not like Miller’s. I can follow the writings of Miller, but I could not follow the words of Wilson. I am not sure if he intended for it to be that confusing, but it was the result.

Overall I made it through the introduction and two chapters. I could not force myself to finish any more than this. I mean, I could have, but I could not recall anything that I had read thus far and decided it was not worth it to finish the book.

If I had to give it a ranking, I would give it one star out of five. I did not get to read enough to form an opinion of the point Wilson was trying to make; however, his writing is confusing and that causes the low ranking. I really wanted to like this book. I did. I just couldn’t.

I received this book for free in exchange for an open and honest review from BookSneeze.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Notes From The Tilt-A-Whirl by N.D. Wilson

  1. This sounds like an interesting book. Thanks for the honest review.

    Also, I wanted to let you know about a friend of mine who recently self-published her first book. I am helping her put a blog tour together and am looking for blog sites to host her either with a book spotlight post, book review, and/or an author interview.

    I wondered if you might be interested???

    Here’s the info on the book:

    Examine Your Faith!: Finding Truth in a World of Lies Hardcover by Pamela Christian

    Well-meaning people want to believe that all roads lead to the same God and heaven. But wanting something to be true is far different from truth lining up with reality. Unless you make an intentional effort to examine what you believe and why you believe it, it’s quite possible you are living your life on the basis of a lie, and don’t know it.

    Please e-mail me if you’re interested. Thanks and have a great week!

    Diane
    http://www.dianeestrella.com
    dianemestrella at gmail dot com

    1. That may be something I am interested in, although I know nothing about the way women think. I married one, but I’m still hopelessly lost in my ability to understand them like the rest of the male population.

  2. I read this book a couple years ago, and it was at times a bit meandering and/or unnecessarily dense. However, I did enduring and was glad I finished the book. Wilson has one absolutely fantastic set of lines that I’ll paste here: “The world is rated R, and no one is checking IDs. Do not try to make it G by imagining the shadows away. Do not try to hide your children from the world forever, but do not pretend there is no danger. Train them. Give them sharp eyes and bellies full of laughter. Make them dangerous. Make them yeast, and when they’ve grown, they will pollute the shadows.”

    1. Yeah. I figure I’ll try and give it another read when I have more time to sit and dedicate to it. During this busy season of my life, it was just too much to handle.

Let Me Know What You Think

