Book Review: All In by Mark Batterson

Here recently I have read a lot of Batterson’s writings. I don’t know why that has been the case, but it has. When the opportunity to read this book before publication arose, I jumped at the opportunity. I am partly glad that I had the opportunity and I also wish I didn’t take the time to read it. What do I mean? Check that out after the break.

While there are amazing point in this book and it is a solid page turner from page to page, it could use some help. What I mean is that if you have read most of Mark’s other works, you have already heard the stories and the themes. Sure, this is a new title, but the same stories and thoughts have been used before in another of his writings. I would not say that it was a horrible read, and in fact there were a couple of statements worth quoting, but for the most part, it’s a rehashing of the older things.

For that reason, I give the book three out of five stars. It’s not that I enjoyed it, but I didn’t dislike it either. For this book, I have a mediocre feeling. I feel like I have read most of the stuff before, but if I hadn’t read it before, I would have enjoyed it.

I guess it could be boiled down to this, if you have read Batterson’s work before, feel free to skip this work, but if you are new to his writing, please read this. He communicates in a style that’s easy to follow and

As a matter of clarification, I did receive this book for free from BookSneeze in exchange for an honest and fair review. I feel like I have done that here.

Let Me Know What You Think

