Initial Thoughts: Deep and Wide by Andy Stanley

I may be one of the last church leaders in all of America to place my hands on this book. Leighann bought it for me for Christmas this past year, but I just now got around to starting it. It is not due to the fact that I did not want to start it, but rather, there were others that somehow got bumped to the top before this one. These are only my first thoughts as I am only about 20-25% of the way through it. Two words could sum it up thus far: “information overload”. Regardless of how bad it sounds, it isn’t, read on to see what I mean.

I had read reviews of this book and it seemed like everyone was endorsing it as a great read that would challenge the way you do things and they were right. Immediately, in the first chapter, I was challenged to do things differently. I have paused quite often to reflect on what our church does and why we do it. We are certain of our message, but the method is sometimes lacking. As a staff member of a church that is looking to grow, the words have been nourishment to my sometimes lacking brain. It is great to hear new ways of looking at things.

Andy’s writing in this book is not unlike his others. It is very easy to read and get submersed in his words, but they are pointed enough to cause you to think. I hope to finish the book sometime next week and will hopefully have a full review up sometime shortly after that.

I have to say though, if you are a church leader and do not have this book, get this book. It will cause you to evaluate your church. It will cause you to define some key areas of your church and decide a path to forge.

Let Me Know What You Think

