Book Review: Jesus Is – Judah Smith

Judah Smith is the pastor of a relatively young church in Seattle.  I say relatively young because his father started the church, so although it has been around a while, it does not have a lengthy life in comparison to some other churches.  Judah writes about what Jesus is and helps the reader see Christ through many aspects of life.  It was a relatively quick read and one that I will more than likely read again.  Get a more in-depth review after the break.  

Jesus Is Front Cover

I like the Smith’s writing style as it is simple enough that I can understand it and read it fairly quickly and deep enough that I am forced to think about it and apply it to my own life.  He does seem to track a few rabbits every now and then, but he brings it all full circle and ties it together before moving on to the next chapter.  That is a good thing as it allows you to see more of how his brain works instead of being given a perfect manuscript.

There are six different blanks that Judah fills in.  Each one of those relates to a different aspect of Christ’s character whether it is that Jesus is our friend or simply happy.  One could fill in the blank on the front cover with millions of different responses and never completely describe Jesus.  I think the six main topics discussed are valuable to anyone to understand.  I am grateful that Judah took the time to describe each of these in a little more detail and not pushing out a book with eighteen different topics covered.

I would not say that there was anything in the book that stood out as a completely new topic to me, but there were things of which I needed to be reminded.  I think this book would be good for a new or mature Christian just the same.  It can give a basic foundation for a new Christian or help a mature one to live more like Christ.  I will be picking this one back up to read again at some point in the future.  I do not know when that will be, but I know it will happen.  I can also see this book being used as a starting point for a sermon series by taking the six points and having a message on the reality of those points.

Just to make you aware, I did receive this book for free from BookSneeze.com in exchange for a fair review.  I have received no compensation or pressure to give this book a positive review; I have done that on my own free will.  I would give it three and a half stars out of five.

Let Me Know What You Think

