Thanksgiving Week 2K12

Yes, the title probably is not completely correct, but it is the beginning of Thanksgiving week.  When I look back over the past year I have more things to be thankful for than I can begin to list.  There are a couple of things I would like to highlight as the things that stick out most in my life through the past year.  I will try to keep it brief so as not to bore you.

The first thing that I have to be thankful for through the past year is God making Himself more and more real to me.  His specific call on my life has become more and more clear through the past year.  I can say that my church family and friends have helped to assure me in that role even when I do not think I am qualified.  To be surrounded by people who have complete confidence in you is a wonderful feeling and not something you can take for granted.

The second thing I have to be thankful for is my family.  We’ve been through a lot over the past year and somehow we have managed to survive without killing each other.  Though in some ways we have dwindled numerically, I have been able to call some folks who are not biological family as part of my family.  For that I am thankful.

The last thing I am thankful for is my steady employment.  I am thankful that, so far, my job has not been phased out and I will continue to have a job through the new year.  Given the economy and my industry in particular, this is a huge thing to be thankful for.  It seems like every day I am coming in contact with someone else who has had their job affected recently.  I know that I could be very close to joining the unemployment number, but so far it has not happened and for that I am thankful.

These few things do not even begin to scratch the surface of everything I am thankful for.  My whole life could be fairly contained in these three things.  I sought to be broad in my thanks as giving specific examples could lead to heartbreak when folks are not mentioned, if they even see this.  Truthfully though, we all have a lot to be thankful for.

What are you thankful for this year?  Has it changed from earlier years?  Do you see it changing next year?

Let Me Know What You Think

