Promises Fulfilled

It seems like everyone these days throws the phrase “I promise” around like it means nothing.  I am striving to be different from the culture.  Last Friday I posted an update just to make my presence known and said that there would be an announcement here this week.  Sadly, this week flew by and I didn’t get a chance until now to come back and make that announcement.  I wanted to make it earlier this week, but here we are on Friday and well, it still hasn’t been posted.  There is no better time than the present to redeem myself, so without further ado, the announcement follows the break.

Next month, on November 18th I will be ordained.  I will then be allowed to marry and bury folks.  It is a fairly exclusive club, though you can get in very easily through some organizations.  You pay your fee and send the paperwork and you get in from their standpoint.  You can then turn in that paperwork and have those same legal rights bestowed to you.  I considered it (I’m joking), but ultimately decided it wasn’t the right thing to do for me.

One part of me is very nervous.  Part of me ran from this calling for over a decade.  It is weird to be this young and still have run from God for so long.  I believe part of my hesitation came from the fact that I understood the great severity of the responsibilities that would be bestowed upon me.  I didn’t want to add anything more to the miscues I have as a Christian.  I thought the weight would be unbearable, and to some degree, it is; however, it must be carried and I am not carrying it alone.

The other part of me is ecstatic.  I am pumped to see what God is going to do through me the rest of my life.  I believe that this is only the beginning and greater things are to come.  I hope that when I get to be an old age I will be able to look at my life and have no regrets.  Instead of saying there are things I wish I would have done that I would be like, I did all that I could.

It has been a whirlwind of emotions for me.  The constant struggle with nerves and excitement, freaking out and being at peace has been an interesting feeling.  Even beyond this, I am beyond blessed to have an amazing wife who is supportive of me and desires to see us be used by God together.  I have plenty more stories to share about her that will just have to wait right now.

Let Me Know What You Think

