Planking

Here lately I have been involved in a lot of thinking.  I am sorting through some of my own problems and beliefs and the last thing you want to do is consult the internet.  If you have an ailment and consult the internet, you will find out that you have some rare form of skin rash that if left untreated can attract warthogs.  Yes, that was a slight exaggeration, but it is amazing how the internet will lead us to false conclusions. In my own specific instance the past couple of days, simply performing a Google search on someone will instantly bring forth sites that are quick to find fault.

In my own life, I have tried to be more cautious of forming judgments of people, especially people I barely know or in the worst case, I do not know.  Rather than immediately being skeptical of people and intently searching for a flaw, I have decided to look for the good in each person.  Regardless of how large the flaw is, I am reminded of the words of Christ in Matthew 7:

Why do you look at the speck in your brother’s eye but don’t notice the log in your own eye? Or how can you say to your brother, ‘Let me take the speck out of your eye,’ and look, there’s a log in your eye? Hypocrite! First take the log out of your eye, and then you will see clearly to take the speck out of your brother’s eye. (HCSB)

Often you have to dig deep into someone before being able to see any ounce of a good trait, but it is necessary.  What concerns me more is that we, as Christians, are quick to write-off those others who claim Christ and yet do not believe exactly the way we do.  This passage applies to an even greater extent here.  How can I point out the rip in another person’s theology if I have gaping holes in my own?

Do you have a problem getting along with others?  Is it easier to find a fault or a good trait in someone?  Are there steps that we can take to help us see the good in others?

Let Me Know What You Think

