Anxiously Overwhelmed

If you know anything about me, you would know that I can easily feel overwhelmed.  Sure, I may not seem that way and I may have my mind thinking thoughtfully and rationally about things when I feel this way, but deep down I can tell I am overwhelmed.  Right now is one of those points.  Last night we had a mission team from another church hours to get here and they are staying through next Sunday afternoon.  Anxiously overwhelmed is what you could call my demeanor.  I am anxious at what is going to take place this week; however, I am also overwhelmed at the thought of it all.

The team came in to help us successfully carry-out a V.B.S.  Being a small church plant, we do not have enough members to fully take on a week-long program like this, but thanks to the help of another church we now have the people required.  Not only are they helping us with the V.B.S., but they are also doing other missions work during the days that they are here.  For instance, this morning they are canvasing the area and distributing information about the church.  Other plans for this week include redoing a deck of an elderly lady in our town that has her daughter and her granddaughter living with her.  They do not attend church anywhere, but the mission of Christ was not to be only giving to those directly connected to your church, but also the community.  They will also wash cars for free and bag groceries and load them at the grocery in town.

I know that many people will be touched by this outreach and that is the cause for my anxiousness.  I believe we are on the brink of something great in the town.  However, I also feel overwhelmed.  I am overwhelmed simply because I am a nervous wreck when it comes to things like this.  I always feel like there should have been more preparation and more communication and I am always expecting things to go wrong.  So far there has not been any major problems that I have had to deal with, but the thought always remains at the back of my mind.  However, I know God does not want us to feel overwhelmed.  Instead we are to case our cares upon Him.  It may sound dumb, but when I am overwhelmed I have to ask Him to guide me and sustain me than trying to do it on my own.

What’s the most overwhelmed you have felt?  How do you deal with feeling overwhelmed?

Let Me Know What You Think

