It’s All Your Fault

It seems like from the very beginning of our ability to talk, we automatically start blaming others. We never want to own up to our own failures and point out the faults in our own life.  Instead, we find the first person we can and we blame it on them.  You didn’t get the lawn cut today?  It’s obvious the telemarketer that you spoke with for twenty seconds took away your entire day.  Oh, you ran through a drive-thru for dinner instead of cooking?  Naturally, it’s because you got held up at a red light and did not have time to make dinner.  See how lame we sound sometimes trying to give an excuse?  Instead of trying to pawn the responsibility on someone else, we should man-up (or woman-up if it fits) and tackle the issue head on.

Now, obviously I am not saying that you cannot run through a drive-thru for dinner or that there is no excuse for not getting work done around the house.  My main concern is that we often delay things simply because we procrastinate and then we go searching for excuses.  As I have mentioned before, I find myself wearing this shoe all too often.  Here recently though, I have tried to admit my mistakes as I make them and take ownership of the situations that I may have caused from my lack of diligence.

Please tell me I’m not the only one that has heard someone say that God has given them a specific flaw.  For instance, people who are like “We’re in debt up to our eyeballs and it’s God’s fault”.  Not according to Proverbs.  Check it out:

People ruin their lives by their own foolishness
and then are angry at the LORD. (Proverbs 19:1, NLT)

Um, hello.  What does that say?  It looks to me as if Solomon is saying look, people want to live their life their own way and then they get angry at God because they are in the situation they are in.  God guides us, but he also allows us to choose our own mistakes.  We have the freedom to choose to do something that is unwise and will ultimately bring about problems, but that is the amazing thing about God, he chooses to let us maintain our free will rather than dictating our every move.  My thoughts are foolish compared to the wisdom of God and for me to ever think the opposite will lead to a major migraine.

The next time you (or I) get into a situation that could have been prevented, we ought to take ownership of the situation and blame our own motives and not blaming someone else, especially God.

Do you have a problem blaming others?  Have you ever blamed God for something?

Let Me Know What You Think

