Me Procrastinate?

Time management is something many struggle with.  We like to control our thoughts, our plans, or our work so why would we not want to spend a lot of time doing those things? For some of us, we like tend to procrastinate and avoid doing what is necessary in a timely fashion.  I find myself in this camp and I am aware that I am not alone.  We tend to spend many hours completing a task at the last-minute and not spending short increments of time over a lengthy span to finish the task. However, this is not healthy and/or Biblical.

When I fail to keep up complete control over my time, I’ve found that it usually costs more than just time.  The several hours I spend on this one thing leads to a degrading in other areas of my life.  For instance if I am spending ten hours pushing a deadline means that the time must come from my “free” time outside of my normal workday.  Usually this time is taken away from the evenings with my wife or my own personal time with God.  It is easy to get caught up in living day by day that we have no forethought about what is required of us at a later date.

The book of Proverbs is known for its wisdom and it does not lack when looking for words about procrastination.  Let’s take a look at a couple of verses (all from the HCSB):

The diligent hand will rule, but laziness will lead to forced labor. (Proverbs 12:24)

The slacker craves, yet has nothing, but the diligent is fully satisfied. (Proverbs 13:4)

Don’t boast about tomorrow, for you don’t know what a day might bring. (Proverbs 27:1)

That last one of a Christian’s favorite verses about seizing the day that God has given you, but the knowledge contained within that is great.  Let’s look at the one at the top of the list in a little more detail.  A diligent hand or a skilled hand or a steady hand will rule.  Laziness (in any form or fashion) will lead to forced labor.  Think of it this way.  If I am responsible as an employee and commit to do the work to the very best of my ability, my life will be fruitful and I should not feel enslaved.  If I am lazy and do not work, my life will be determined by someone else.  It could be a debt that has me enslaved and I cannot seem to free myself of it because I am lazy and refuse to work.  Eventually everything that is done will be exposed and laziness is no exception.

I already admit there are areas in my life that I struggle with procrastination and laziness.  What about you?

Let Me Know What You Think

