Maintaining Focus Part 2

It has been a while since I last posted something and although I did not mean to take such a drastic break, it did affect my ability to be focused.  For instance, anyone in corporate accounting knows that the beginning of the month is always rough.  We have to go through and complete all the costs and adjustments for the month and are operating on a strict deadline.  If I would have posted an entry sometime between now and then, there is a good chance I would have lost my focus.

I know, there were plenty of other times I could have typed something out and posted it out just to have something up, but I believe that we should not be about that.  Instead, we should try to make sure every letter and word we type are beneficial and necessary.  If that truth can be said of our verbal words, why can they not be said of our written/typed ones as well?

Instead of just banging something out on a keyboard and posting for the sake of posting, I focused solely on my work during that time.  We had to have the information completed at an even quicker pace and had a planned holiday in the schedule for Good Friday.  I refused to come in and work on a holiday if there was any way possible I could get around it.  Luckily, I was.  It was hard and it required sacrifice, but in the end it was worth it.  Sure I had to stay late the Monday through Wednesday and it was later than I normally did, but having a day off was my reward.

I wonder how much more we could get accomplished in this world either for the sake of others or just the peace of our own mind if we were to keep focused and get the job done.  It is easy to get side-tracked and sometimes delays will happen that we have no control over, but we have control over a vast part of our lives.  Why would we not want to maintain focus?

Let Me Know What You Think

