Happy Valentine’s Day

I realized earlier this morning, that I needed to get a post out. The title is a little confusing because yesterday was actually Valentine’s Day as it is recognized. This hasn’t discouraged me for going ahead and tackling the topic. You see, it holds a special place in my heart.

Valentine’s Day, 2009 occurred on a Saturday for those of you who do not remember that far back. It also, is the day I got engaged. I had always promised Leighann that I would not propose on a holiday or other special occasion, but I wanted to surprise her and I had just picked up the ring the day before and didn’t want to go through the process of hanging onto it for longer than I necessary. So needless to say, she was shocked, and I was relieved that she actually said yes. The ring is a completely different story.

If you know me and anything about me, I am one that will debate anything for weeks and months before making a decision and sometimes I’ll wait it out long enough to where an opportunity passes. However, on this one decision, I debated and took a risk. I looked for a long time for a ring that I thought was suitable. I looked in nearly every jewelry store around and nothing really popped out at me. I knew a little bit about the diamond market and how they are bought and sold. I decided to turn to look online and see if I could find one that I liked both in quality . A lot of the stores looked sketchy and I stayed away from them for obvious reasons.

After looking for a while I finally found one that I thought was reasonable and professional. The cool thing was that you could pick your stone and setting and they would put them together and then ship them to your overnight. I debated over the stone and the setting up until the very last day possible. The ring came on time just like promised and shined better than anything I could have picked out of the stores near here. Overall it was an easy process and would highly recommend it. They even sent a cleaning kit and some chocolates for the occasion. If you’re interested in the company, let me know and I will hook you up.

I will always be partial to Valentine’s Day and it is not because I like giving gifts or getting things.  It’s all because it’s symbolic of a point in my life that I hope I never forget.  It’s hard to believe that almost nine months to the day after getting engaged, we were married and that it has been over two years now.

One thought on “Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. Despite the many grammar mistakes, it was extremely touching and heartfelt. I love you and can’t wait to spend many more years with you! Happy engagement and Valentines day!

Let Me Know What You Think

